Wichita City Council District 1, 3 and 6 races decided

WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – There will be some new faces on the Wichita City Council.

In the Wichita City Council District 1 race, current councilwoman Lavonta Williams has reached her term limit. Vying for her seat were Brandon Johnson and Mike Kinard. Johnson came on top with 65 percent of the vote. Kinard followed behind with 34 percent.

“The biggest thing first for me is job creation, so looking at working with our entrepreneurs, District 1 has a lot of space opportunities for entrepreneurs, start businesses, low-cost rent and also build stronger neighborhood associations. We can do that, we can begin to address neighborhood issues,” said¬† Brandon Johnson, Wichita City Council District 1 winner.

District 3, James Clendenin received 70 percent of the vote. William Stofer had 28 percent.

“I’m so passionate because this is an amazing city, amazing people in this city, but there’s a lot of work to be done. There’s a lot of work to be done and thought we’ve accomplished a lot, I know that we can accomplish so much more,” said James Clendenin, Wichita City Council District 3 winner.

In District 6, Cindy Claycomb will take over for Janet Miller. She received 86 percent of the vote. Sybil Strum had 12 percent.

For more election results click here.

Get breaking news, weather and traffic on the go. Download our News App and our Weather App for your phone and tablet. Follow and like us on Facebook and Twitter.