Fort Hays State University president resigns

Dr. Mirta Martin speaks to the crowd after being named the new president of Fort Hays State University. (Courtesy: Fort Hays State University)

HAYS, Kan. (KSNW) – Fort Hays State University President Mirta M. Martin has announced that she is resigning effective immediately.

Dr. Martin was selected by the Kansas Board of Regents as the 9th President of Fort Hays State University on May 2, 2014. She began her presidency on July 1, 2014, and served as the university’s president for just over two years.

Mike Barnett, Fort Hays State University Vice President for Administration and Finance, has been named Acting President.

Barnett, who grew up in northwest Kansas and earned a bachelor’s degree from Fort Hays State in 1979, has been in his current position since April 2004.

The Board will next meet on Wednesday, December 14, 2016.

Regent Zoe F. Newton, Chair of the Kansas Board of Regents, has issued the following statement regarding today’s resignation of Fort Hays State University President Mirta M. Martin:

The Board thanks Dr. Martin for the commitment she has made to Fort Hays State University, and offers our best wishes for her future endeavors. We are grateful for the contributions she has made to the higher education system in Kansas.”