State receives federal disaster declaration for September storms

Lightning (Courtesy

WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) – The state of Kansas has been granted a federal disaster declaration for 11 counties that sustained damages from a severe storm system that struck the state Sept. 2-12. Gov. Sam Brownback made the request Oct. 10.

The declaration allows local governments and certain nonprofit entities in Cheyenne, Cowley, Ellis, Graham, Greenwood, Kingman, Norton, Rooks, Russell, Sedgwick, and Sumner Counties to apply for Public Assistance, which provides funds for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged infrastructure and facilities.

The declaration also activates the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program statewide. This program provides assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards.