Burn ban in effect in Sedgwick County through April

A burn ban is in effect in Sedgwick County during the month of April. Other counties also have issued burn bans.

Fire (KSN File Photo)

WICHITA, Kan. (KSN) – The Sedgwick County Fire Department is reminding area residents that a burn ban is in effect during the month if April.

In a news release from Fire District 1, officials said new open burn permits will not be issued during the month of April, and no current permit holders will be allowed to conduct open burns after March 31, 2016.  Open burns can resume after April 30, 2016.

The ban includes all open burning of any waste, including vegetation and wood waste, structures, or other material on any premises.

In addition to Sedgwick County other counties that have implemented a month-long burn ban in April are Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Geary, Greenwood, Johnson, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte counties.

Exceptions to the open burn ban include pasture, crop, range and wildlife or watershed management.  The allowed burning operations will still require a valid permit from Sedgwick County Fire District 1. Burn permits may be requested online at www.sedgwickcounty.org or by calling 316-660-3473.

Questions regarding the burn ban, or fire safety in general, should be directed to the office of the Sedgwick County Fire Marshal at 316-660-3473.

Burn Ban
Click on the image to enlarge it.

Comments are closed.