Shocker duo named USBWA All- District VI

Ron Baker and Fred VanVleet (Courtesy: Wichita State)

WICHITA, Kansas – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association tabbed Wichita State’s Ron Baker and Fred VanVleet to its 10-man All-District VI team on Tuesday.

District VI consists of Division I schools from Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.

WSU has had multiple players on the all-district list in three-consecutive seasons and in four of the last five. VanVleet is a three-time honoree and Baker was named for the second time.

VanVleet – a senior point guard from Rockford, Ill. – averages 12.0 points and 5.7 assists and is a two-time winner of the Larry Bird Trophy, as the Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year.

Baker – a senior guard from Scott City, Kan. – is one of four players in WSU history to top 450 points in three different seasons (joining Xavier McDaniel, Cheese Johnson and Cleo Littleton). He leads the team in both scoring (14.2) and rebounding (4.8).

Baker and VanVleet are the 43rd and 44th players in MVC history to be named first team All-Valley at least three times.

In addition to Baker and VanVleet, Isaiah Cousins (Oklahoma), Perry Ellis (Kansas), Buddy Hield (Oklahoma), Pete Jok (Iowa), Frank Mason III (Kansas), Monte Morris (Iowa State), Georges Niang (Iowa State) and Jarrod Uthoff (Iowa) were named to the all-district list. Hield was named district player of the year, and Kansas’ Bill Self took home coach of the year honors.

– – –

This is year 60 for the USBWA All-District teams, however data is unavailable prior to 2003-04. Past Shockers honored include:

Ron Baker
Fred VanVleet

Ron Baker
Fred VanVleet

Cleanthony Early*
Fred VanVleet

Joe Ragland
Garrett Stutz

Paul Miller

* – USBWA All-American

Comments are closed.