K-State’s Weber named semifinalist for Campbell Trophy

MANHATTAN, Kansas – Kansas State senior wide receiver Stanton Weber was named a semifinalist for the prestigious William V. Campbell Trophy presented by Fidelity Investments, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced Thursday.

Weber’s inclusion on the 56-man list for FBS players marks the second-straight season a Wildcat has been a semifinalist for the award. Last season, wide receiver Tyler Lockett was a finalist for the award and thus named a National Scholar-Athlete. Additionally, former defensive back Tysyn Hartman was a finalist in 2011.

The Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation and holds requirements of candidates to be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

“These 135 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. “It is important for us to showcase their success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community. This year’s semifinalists further illustrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

One of five semifinalists from the Big 12, Weber is a two-time First Team Academic All-Big 12 recipient who was nominated with a perfect 4.0 GPA both years. He graduated with a degree in accounting last May and is currently working on a master’s degree in accounting.

A native of Overland Park, Kansas, Weber has been a special-teams standout since his redshirt freshman season of 2012. He has 13 career special teams tackles, including eight last year to rank third on the team. This season, Weber has one tackle while he forced and recovered a fumble on a punt during the season opener against South Dakota.

Off the field, Weber has volunteered for numerous community-service activities, including: Cats in the Classroom (helping out at local elementary schools), Senior Cats (Visiting local retirement centers) and the K-State Special Olympics clinic. He has also been a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) in which he was the chair of the 2014-15 Powercat Choice Awards. He is also the President of SAAC for the 2015-16 school year.

From all NCAA divisions and the NAIA, the NFF Awards Committee will select 15 recipients of a prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Award, which includes $18,000 scholarships that can be used for the honorees’ postgraduate educations. This year’s recipients will be announced October 29, and one will be declared the winner of the Campbell Trophy on December 8, during the NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

In the midst of its bye week, Kansas State will travel to Stillwater, Oklahoma, to take on Oklahoma State on Saturday, October 3, at Boone Pickens Stadium. The game kicks off at 3 p.m., and will be shown nationally on FS1.

Comments are closed.