Wichita State, Indiana to face off in Omaha

MVC Illinois St Wichita St Basketball
Wichita State guard Ron Baker dunks after recovering a turnover in first half action during an NCAA college basketball game in the semifinals of the Missouri Valley Conference tournament between Wichita State and Illinois State on Saturday, March 7, 2015, at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mo. (AP Photo/St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Chris Lee)

OMAHA, Nebraska — Wichita State will participate in the NCAA Tournament for a school-record fourth consecutive season.

Sunday evening, the NCAA and its media partners formally released the field of 68 teams that will compete for the 2015 men’s basketball national championship.

The MVC Champion Shockers, 28-4 and ranked No. 12 in both national polls, will travel to Omaha, Neb. as the No. 7 seed in the Midwest.

WSU will be paired with 10th-seeded Indiana in Friday’s Second Roundwith the winner advancing to Sunday’s Third Round to face either No. 2 Kansas or No. 15 New Mexico State.

The Shockers and Hoosiers are scheduled to tip at approximately 1:45 p.m. CT, following the KU-NMSU game, which is slated for 11:15 a.m. Both games will air nationally on CBS.

The winner of the four-team pod will travel to Cleveland, Ohio the following weekend to compete in the Midwest Regional Semifinals.

It’s the 12th overall NCAA Tournament trip for the Shockers, who are 13-12 all-time with five Sweet 16s (1964, 1965, 1981, 2006, 2013), four Elite Eights (1964, 1965, 1981, 2013) and two Final Four appearances (1965, 2013).

This is the 25th overall postseason bid for WSU, which won the 2011 NIT to kick off its current run of NCAA appearances. Prior to WSU’s current run of four-straight NCAA appearances, the Shockers had appeared in back-to-back tourneys on just two other occasions (1964/65 and 1987/88).

WSU Athletics will provide a digital front-row seat to all the Shocker NCAA action on goshockers.com and via social media.

Comments are closed.