McPherson tops Basehor-Linwood 74-60 in 4A-1 championship

SALINA, Kan. (AP) — Payton Stephens scored 24 points to lift McPherson to a 74-60 victory over Basehor-Linwood in the 4A-1 state title game Saturday.

Basehor-Linwood (24-1) saw its undefeated streak come to an end as McPherson (25-0) scored 32 points in the fourth quarter to win.

McPherson’s Kyler Kinnamon and Drew Pyle also stood out scoring 12 points each and Kinnamon led the game in assists with 5.

Both teams made more than 71 percent of their free throws, but McPherson’s 60 percent shooting from the field made the difference.

Basehor-Linwood’s Jahron McPherson led the team in scoring with 22 points and went 8 for 8 on free throws.

The win gives McPherson High School its eight boys 4A-1 basketball title.

Comments are closed.