4 seismic monitoring stations in south-central Kansas

LAWRENCE, Kansas (AP) – Four temporary seismic monitoring stations have been installed in south-central Kansas and three more will be ready by the end of the month.

Kansas Geological Survey officials say the stations are designed to monitor increased earthquake activity in Harper, Sumner and Barber counties.

They are part of a temporary monitoring network funded by the state in mid-November. The funding came after Gov. Sam Brownback appointed a task force to study the earthquake activity.

The U.S. Geological Survey documented 124 earthquakes in Kansas from Jan. 1 to Dec. 24, 2014. That was an increase from 32 earthquakes in 2013 and none in 2012.

Comments are closed.