Shockers to open against Loyola Marymount in Hawaii

Wichita State University (KSN Photo)

WICHITA, Kansas – The bracket for the 2014 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic has been announced and the Wichita State men’s basketball team will face Loyola Marymount in Honolulu at 10 p.m. (CT) on Mon., Dec. 22 on ESPNU.

Diamond-Head-Classic-LogoThe eight competing teams include Colorado, DePaul, George Washington, Loyola Marymount, Ohio, Nebraska, Wichita State and host Hawaii.

The multi-day, destination event will feature 12 games over three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracketed-tournament format. Three of the 12 matchups, including the championship game, will be showcased on ESPN2. ESPNU will carry seven games, and one will be exclusive to ESPN3.

Entering its sixth year, the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic will again be played at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, where it has become a holiday tradition on the island of O’ahu.

The tournament tips off Monday, Dec. 22, with Ohio (Mid-American) pitted against George Washington (Atlantic 10) at 1:30 p.m. CT on ESPNU, immediately followed by DePaul (Big East) versus Colorado (Pac-12) at 3:30 p.m. on ESPNU. Monday’s evening session will feature Loyola Marymount (West Coast) versus Wichita State (Missouri Valley) at 10:00 p.m. on ESPNU and wrap with a battle between Nebraska (Big Ten) and tournament host Hawai’i (Big West) at 12 a.m. Tuesday on ESPNU.

Five of the participating teams appeared in the 2013-14 postseason, including Colorado, George Washington and Nebraska, all of which earned second-round berths in the NCAA Championship. Wichita State had a storybook season with a 35-1 record and its second straight appearance in the national tournament. Ohio advanced through the quarterfinals of the Postseason Tournament.

For more information, please visit

Comments are closed.