Same-sex divorce allowed only in Douglas County

gavel, sentencing, judge, court
Gavel (KSN File Photo)

LAWRENCE, Kansas (AP) – Same-sex couples who marry in other states won’t find many places in Kansas to divorce if the relationship fails.

Douglas County is currently the only county in Kansas that has issued divorces for same-sex couples.

Gay rights advocates say many same-sex couples in Kansas get married in Iowa, where the marriages are legal. Iowa requires same-sex couples to live in the state for at least a year before they can divorce.

Attorney David Brown says he knows of only three same-sex divorces that have been granted in Kansas, and those all occurred in Douglas County.

Brown says at least two other counties, Shawnee and Johnson, will grant an annulment to end the marriages. Other counties find the marriage is invalid and dismiss the divorce petitions. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, racial slurs or consistent name calling will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus