Kansas Sports HOF announces Class of 2014

WICHITA, Kansas – Honoring sports standouts with ties to the Sunflower State, the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame has announced the members of the Class of 2014. The new group of inductees will be enshrined in ceremonies on October 5th in the Wichita Boathouse.

The KSHOF Class of ’14 consists of ten members: Smith Center H.S. football coach and eight-time state champion Roger Barta; Riley native and University of Texas Athletic Director DeLoss Dodds; eight-time high school football and two-time track state championship coach Bill Freeman of LeRoy; Stanford University All-American swimmer from Wichita, Caroline Bruce McAndrew; all-time leading rebounder in Kansas State University history Ed Nealy; Wichita State University baseball coach of seven College World Series teams, including the 1989 National Championship, Gene Stephenson; two time NAIA track and field All-American from Emporia State Bill Tidwell; two-time University of Kansas basketball All-American Walt Wesley; and two time Kansas State University basketball All-American Chuckie Williams. Charlie Hoag, a member of the 1952 KU National Championship team and Olympic gold medalist will be honored posthumously.

The ten-person class raises the total number of Kansas Sports Hall of Fame inductees to 237.

Comments are closed.