Marshall named Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award

File. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
File. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)

ST. LOUIS, Missouri – Gregg Marshall, who led Wichita State to a 35-1 record and a No. 1 seeding in the NCAA tournament, has been selected as the recipient of the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, presented by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Marshall will be formally presented the award on Monday, April 14, in Oklahoma City.

Marshall, 51, led the Shockers to the Missouri Valley Conference regular season and tournament titles. For the fifth straight season, the Shockers won at least 25 games and Marshall’s career mark at Wichita State is 174-71.

The Shockers, who were ranked No. 2 in the final AP poll, were eliminated by eighth-seeded Kentucky on Sunday.

Wichita State became the first team in NCAA men’s history to win its first 35 games. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, racial slurs or consistent name calling will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus