Kansas House seeks to expand rural economic zones

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) – Kansas House members are preparing to approve a bill that would add four southern counties to a program that seeks to boost population and economic development in rural areas.

The House will vote Thursday on a bill that would add Cherokee, Labette, Montgomery and Sumner counties to the existing list of 73 counties currently eligible for designation as rural opportunity zones.

Legislators created the program to boost rural growth in 2011, primarily in counties that had seen double-digit population declines during the last federal census period.

The program offers income tax exemptions for new residents moving to those counties, as well as the repayment of a portion of outstanding college loans with participation by county governments.

Program supporters say the incentives have been helpful in attracting residents and business activity.


KSN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, racial slurs or consistent name calling will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus