Kansas innovative school districts selected

School Bus (KSN File Photo)
School Bus (KSN File Photo)

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Concordia and McPherson school districts have been selected as the first members of the Kansas Coalition of Innovative School Districts.

The districts were chosen Wednesday after submitting applications and making presentations to Gov. Sam Brownback, House Education Committee Chairwoman Kasha Kelley and Senate Education Committee Chairman Steve Abrams.

A 2013 law created the process for districts to seek innovative status, meaning they would be exempt from state rules and regulations in exchange for the freedom to develop strategies to boost student achievement. The districts would operate similar to charter schools, but still be accountable to local boards of education and the State Board of Education.

McPherson superintendent Randy Watson will serve as chairman of the board, which will review the other applications for possible inclusion as innovative districts.

KSN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language, racial slurs or consistent name calling will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus