Thunder release 2013-14 schedule

Wichita Thunder Hockey

Wichita, KS (July 26th) – The Wichita Thunder of the Central Hockey League announced today the release of the 2013-14 regular season schedule, which will begin on Friday, October 18th.

Wichita is coming off another successful season in which the team finished second in the league in points and went to the CHL Finals for the second year in a row. The Thunder will begin the season with a pair of home games on opening weekend, hosting the Rapid City Rush on Friday, October 18th and the Allen Americans on Saturday, October 19th. The team will then travel to Allen on Sunday, October 20th to close out opening weekend.

The CHL’s 10 member teams will all play in the Berry Conference with the other participating teams made up of the Allen Americans, Arizona Sundogs, Brampton Beast, Denver Cutthroats, Missouri Mavericks, Quad City Mallards, Rapid City Rush, St. Charles Chill, and Tulsa Oilers.

Wichita will renew their close rivalry with the Missouri Mavericks as the two teams will see each other 10 times with the first two meetings in a home-and-home series on Friday, November 8th at the Independence Event Center and Saturday, November 9th at INTRUST Bank Arena. The Thunder will also take on rival, Tulsa, 14 times this season including seven of those meetings at home. Wichita and Tulsa are both entering their 22nd CHL seasons and are two of the oldest franchises in all of minor league hockey.

The Thunder home schedule will feature 29 weekend games, including 12 games on a Friday and 10 games on a Saturday. Wichita will also host seven Sunday games as well as a home game on the night before Thanksgiving. The Thunder will finish the season in Prescott Valley, Arizona for a three-game set against the Sundogs beginning on Wednesday, March 26th, which extends the regular season by one week.

The Thunder will begin the season with a heavy dose of home-ice, playing 11 of its first 18 games at INTRUST Bank Arena. Wichita led the league with 25 wins at home last season and will have a chance to get off to a fast start once again. During that stretch, Wichita will have its longest home-stand (six games) from Friday, November 22nd to Friday, November 29th. The Thunder will also welcome two new teams to INTRUST for the first time as the Brampton Beast make their debut on Friday, November 1st while the St. Charles Chill visit the ICT for a two-game set on Saturday, December 28th and Sunday, December 29th.

Each of the CHL’s clubs will play a 66-game schedule with 33 home games and 33 road games.  Weekends comprise a large majority of the schedule as 74% of the games will be played on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays (245 of the 330 games will occur over the weekends) and 64% of the games are played on the prime nights of Fridays and Saturdays.

The CHL Playoffs this season will feature the top eight point-getting teams and three rounds, all of which will be a best-of-seven format.

Individual tickets for all home games will go on sale in September. Season tickets are still available.  A $50 dollar non-refundable deposit is required for all season tickets.  Contact the Wichita Thunder Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. at (316) 264-4625 if you are interested in season tickets.  Stay up-to-date on all the news this off-season by visiting www.wichitathunder.com.

 

Wichita Thunder 2013-14  Schedule

 

All Times Local
GN AWAY HOME DATE TIME GAME LOCATION  
Rapid City Wichita Fri, Oct 18 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Allen Wichita Sat, Oct 19 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Allen Sun, Oct 20 4:05 PM Allen EC
Wichita Denver Fri, Oct 25 7:00 PM Denver Coliseum
Wichita Denver Sat, Oct 26 6:00 PM Denver Coliseum
Brampton Wichita Fri, Nov 01 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita St. Charles Sat, Nov 02 7:05 PM FIC
Denver Wichita Sun, Nov 03 5:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Tulsa Wed, Nov 06 7:05 PM BOK Center
Wichita Missouri Fri, Nov 08 7:05 PM Independence EC
Missouri Wichita Sat, Nov 09 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Tulsa Tue, Nov 12 7:05 PM BOK Center
Tulsa Wichita Fri, Nov 15 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Tulsa Wichita Sat, Nov 16 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Rapid City Wichita Fri, Nov 22 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Rapid City Wichita Sat, Nov 23 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Brampton Wichita Wed, Nov 27 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Brampton Wichita Fri, Nov 29 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Missouri Sat, Nov 30 7:05 PM Independence EC
Missouri Wichita Thu, Dec 05 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Missouri Fri, Dec 06 7:05 PM Independence EC
Tulsa Wichita Sat, Dec 07 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita St. Charles Fri, Dec 13 7:05 PM FIC
Wichita St. Charles Sat, Dec 14 7:05 PM FIC
Wichita Arizona Fri, Dec 20 7:05 PM Tims ToyotaCtr
Wichita Arizona Sat, Dec 21 7:05 PM Tims ToyotaCtr
Wichita Tulsa Fri, Dec 27 7:35 PM BOK Center
St. Charles Wichita Sat, Dec 28 7:05 PM Intrust BA
St. Charles Wichita Sun, Dec 29 5:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Allen Tue, Dec 31 7:05 PM Allen EC
Arizona Wichita Fri, Jan 03 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Arizona Wichita Sat, Jan 04 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Quad City Fri, Jan 10 7:05 PM i-wireless
Quad City Wichita Fri, Jan 17 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Missouri Sat, Jan 18 7:05 PM Independence EC
Missouri Wichita Sun, Jan 19 5:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Tulsa Tue, Jan 21 7:05 PM BOK Center
Wichita Rapid City Fri, Jan 24 7:05 PM Rushmore
Wichita Rapid City Sat, Jan 25 7:05 PM Rushmore
Denver Wichita Tue, Jan 28 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Allen Wichita Fri, Jan 31 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Allen Sat, Feb 01 7:05 PM Allen EC
Missouri Wichita Fri, Feb 07 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Tulsa Sat, Feb 08 7:35 PM BOK Center
Missouri Wichita Sun, Feb 09 5:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Brampton Fri, Feb 14 7:30 PM Powerade Centre
Wichita Brampton Sun, Feb 16 2:00 PM Powerade Centre
Wichita Brampton Mon, Feb 17 7:00 PM Powerade Centre
Allen Wichita Fri, Feb 21 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Quad City Wichita Sat, Feb 22 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Arizona Wichita Tue, Feb 25 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Tulsa Wichita Fri, Feb 28 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Missouri Sat, Mar 01 7:05 PM Independence EC
Arizona Wichita Sun, Mar 02 5:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Rapid City Tue, Mar 04 7:05 PM Rushmore
Rapid City Wichita Sun, Mar 09 5:05 PM Intrust BA
Tulsa Wichita Fri, Mar 14 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Tulsa Wichita Sat, Mar 15 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Tulsa Sun, Mar 16 4:05 PM BOK Center
Wichita Allen Wed, Mar 19 7:05 PM Allen EC
Wichita Tulsa Fri, Mar 21 7:35 PM BOK Center
Tulsa Wichita Sat, Mar 22 7:05 PM Intrust BA
Allen Wichita Sun, Mar 23 5:05 PM Intrust BA
Wichita Arizona Wed, Mar 26 6:35 PM Tims ToyotaCtr
Wichita Arizona Fri, Mar 28 7:05 PM Tims ToyotaCtr
Wichita Arizona Sat, Mar 29 7:05 PM Tims ToyotaCtr

 

blog comments powered by Disqus