Ole Miss catcher wins Johnny Bench Award

From the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commisison:

It was an evening of celebration at the 16th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet as local awards were handed out in various categories. The event concluded with Johnny Bench, former Cincinnati Reds catcher and Hall of Famer, as he presented the Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com to the Ole Miss catcher, Stuart Turner. Mitchell Garver of the University of New Mexico and Zane Evans of Georgia Tech University were also finalists for the award.   The annual banquet recognizes the achievements and dedication of local youth, high school, college and professional athletes and coaches. The winners were:

• Connor Frankamp, Wichita North High School – Barry Sanders High School Male Athlete of the Year
• Evan Stamp, Andover Central High School – Lynette Woodard High School Female Athlete of the Year
• Malcolm Armstead, Wichita State University – College Male Athlete of the Year
• Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton, Wichita State University – College Female Athlete of the Year
• Matt Moss, Wichita Wild – Professional Athlete of the Year
• Antwain Scales, Wichita South – High School Coach of the Year (Women’s Sports)
• Joe Alan Schuckman, Bishop Carroll High School – High School Coach of the Year (Men’s Sports)
• Mark Potter, Newman University – Coach of the Year • Wichita Wild – Award of Success
• Ed Hargrove, Cowley College Softball – Award of Success
• Wichita State University Athletics – Award of Excellence
• Stuart Turner, Ole Miss – Johnny Bench National Collegiate Catcher of the Year

“The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission would like to congratulate all of the award finalists and especially Stuart Turner, the Johnny Bench National Collegiate Catcher of the Year,” stated Bob Hanson, president/CEO. “They represent their teams and universities in a remarkable manner.” “We are very appreciative of the time and energy Johnny Bench has demonstrated in making this award a huge success. He has set a high standard for these young men to strive toward,” said Hanson.

Comments are closed.